Northeast Community Credit Union awards the William L. Armstrong Scholarship annually to qualifying credit union members who are graduating from high school and will be attending college.

The scholarship was originally established to honor William L. Armstrong, one of the founding members of Northeast Community Credit Union who continues to serve on the Board of Directors.  To qualify for the scholarship, students must be enrolled at local high schools approved by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, have a minimum 3.0 grade point average, must have his or her own NCCU account, and plan to enter college for the following fall semester.  As part of the selection process, students are required to submit a 500-word typed essay on how one person can make a difference in the world.

This year, the scholarships were awarded to Gracie Freeman of Cloudland High School; Macy Fulmer of Elizabethton High School; Heather Grindstaff of Hampton High School; Blakelee Ollis of Happy Valley High School; and Kaley Madison Rice of Unaka High School.

Students are recommended by teachers and leaders in the community.  They have exemplified good citizenship in the classrooms and are active in volunteer work in the local area.